Dilbert

Dilbert

A quick thought on feeds.  I’m a big fan of RSS feeds for bringing the news to me, one of which is the mightily imporant daily dose of Dilbert.  But… if you just read feeds you are missing out on some very cool stuff out there.  I just discovered dilbert’s “Punch this strip” which allows you to create your own custom punchlines with Scott Adam’s blessing (!)  You can’t do that in RSS.

Also, I find that for some sites, I just like reading the news on the site rather than in an  RSS reader.  They put a lot of effort into making the page looks nice and readable and this meta-data helps the reader know where things are.  It also adds “brand” value – coffee tastes better if it’s drunk in a nice coffee house.

Of course, RSS links through to the sites themselves so no problem there.  Just a reminder to actually visit your favourite sites once in a while to keep the site designers happy.

