You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 4, 2008.

I run two main internet TV channels, my personal channel, Boris in Wonderland, which is approaching 100,000 viewers, and the IBM Business Center Channel, which also embed into our website, which just hit over 150,000 minutes, with almost 67,000 minutes this month!  WOOHOO!

Yesterday I dropped in on the virtual Climate Conference 08 hosted by Imperial College London and being held in Second Life.  I was interested to see how others are using Second Life for conferences, especially as we at IBM have just launched an online community for academics interested in virtual worlds. This was their first conference, so they were pretty pleased with the results – well done!  🙂  The talk I saw by Franklin Orr sounded interesting, although I’m no green expert so it started to go a bit over my head 🙂  He used a great chart though on the worlds energy balance.

Exergy

Exergy

They decided to stream the speakers voice in rather than use Voice Chat.  I think this is the biggest learning point for them perhaps, as the speaker did not have an avatar, and so it seemed a little disembodied.  Again though, well done for experimenting 🙂

I bumped into Mal Burns there too – good to catch up.

About Kevin Aires

Add to Favorites

Flickr Photos

TwitterCounter for @kevinaires

RSS What I’ve been reading lately

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
December 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031